Slowly but surely, pot prohibition is ending state by state. Usually, states start with okaying marijuana use for medical reasons. In June of 2018, that’s precisely what Oklahoma did.
That made it the 30th US state to allow medical weed use. In the first year, 7300 cannabis-related companies were licensed. Over 5% of Oklahoma residents are currently certified for prescribed pot.
As of yet, however, the government has not opened up the state for recreational use. However, the legislature did decriminalize possession for non-medical use. There’s still a fine, but no jail time for small amounts.
Let’s take a look at specific laws about Oklahoma medical marijuana. You should know particulars about licensing and possession.
Visitors to the state can get temporary permits. We’ll discuss that in more depth.
Then we’ll talk about the possibility of the state legalizing recreational in the future.
Lastly, we’ll show how you can save on Oklahoman prescribed pot.
Let’s start by detailing what the law allows.
There’s something very significant about Oklahoma’s requirements for cannabis-consuming patients. That is that there are no qualifying conditions. All that is necessary is a doctor’s recommendation.
That’s unusual compared to other places with legalized medical marijuana. Other states, like Illinois for example, have a list of provisos for prescribing weed. Not so in Oklahoma.
So, what does the law stipulate?
The medical recommendation from a doctor must include written documentation.
There is a requirement that patients have to be at least 18 years old. Those younger than that need no less than two doctors to write recommendations. Underage applicants also must have the support of their parents or a guardian.
Only parents or guardians can pick the pot up from dispensaries for younger users.
Applications for all aspiring users are approved or denied within 14 days.
Cultivation of plants by and for patients is allowed. Though, like any other state that has legalized growing, there are limitations.
Caregivers can also be qualified to provide services. This benefits license holders who may be homebound.
Those applying to operate bud businesses must be at least 25 years old. They must also be state residents. All operations must be 75% owned by Oklahomans.
The fee for business licensing is $2500. It is non-refundable if the application fails.
Licenses, regulations, and administration fall to OMMA. That’s the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority. They oversee rules and procedures for patients and caregivers. Further, dispensaries, growers, processors, and physicians fall under their jurisdiction.
The agency maintains a state website. There, patients and providers can apply for licenses. There are also links to streamline the process for personal and business applicants. And they give answers to frequently asked questions.
All medical cards are also registered with OBNDDC. That's the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control.
The cost of each application is $100. For patients with Medicaid or Medicare, the cost is only $20. All approved medical cards are good for two years.
Medical-use patients with a card from another state can apply for a temporary patient license. That waiver is good for 30 days. The cost for a temporary permit is $100, the same as a residential certification.
With a temp license, visitors can shop at any certified dispensary within the state. They can also possess and grow ganja. But only for 30 days from the issuing of their permit.
In 2021, a move was made to amend the rules for visitors. The Oklahoma House of Representatives did pass a bill expanding temporary licenses to 2 years. But that did not pass in the senate, thus the temp license remains at 30 days.
Tourists cannot bring their own stash of weed into Oklahoma. Marijuana is still federally illegal and so transporting any across state lines is a crime. Out-of-state medical users must buy within the state.
Approved state license holders can possess up to eight ounces of marijuana flower in their homes. At any one time, patients are allowed three ounces of weed on their person.
For concentrates the limit is one ounce.
Edible products cannot exceed 72 ounces.
Those cultivating cannabis can own no more than six mature marijuana plants. Additionally, they may have up to six non-flowering seedling plants. So, that’s a combination of 12 plants altogether.
Out-of-staters with a temporary med card have the same purchasing and possession limits.
The state decriminalized possession, but that doesn’t mean there’s nothing to worry about. If you’re unlicensed and are holding cannabis, there is some concern.
Those who don’t have a med license face a minimum $400 fine if found in possession of pot. That’s if they have no more than 1 and a half ounces of cannabis. More than that and the fine steepens, plus there’s the likelihood of jail time.
For businesses, there are limits to sales to individuals. Provisioning centers are prohibited from selling over three ounces of cannabis flower. Restrictions specify no more than one ounce of marijuana concentrate dispensed at one time. There is a cap of 72 total ounces of medical marijuana products.
As of early 2022, there are two petitions to put recreational pot use on the ballot. If passed, the initiative seeks to also have convictions for possession reversed. It also would expunge criminal records.
Also proposed is a 15% excise tax on potential sales. Currently, there is a 7% tax on all medical marijuana sales - plus state sales tax.
Time will tell if Oklahoma voters go the way of other states and add a recreational weed option.
Because Cannasaver is now in Oklahoma, medical marijuana cardholders can save some money!
It’s not hard to find great bud bargains, just type ‘Oklahoma’ into the upper search bar. Then click Oklahoma under location. That will show you relevant deals and dispensaries.
Then you can shop, save, and enjoy!