For the best site experience,
please share your location with us
  • Cannabis News

Marijuana News: Illinois Decriminalizes, Medical Marijuana in Florida, and More

There has been a lot to celebrate lately in world of marijuana legalization news. Presidential candidates Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump both seem to support federal marijuana legalization, Illinois just decriminalized marijuana, California voters will decide on recreational marijuana this November, and marijuana patients in Florida can now get their medicine. Why not toke one in honor of these latest little milestones and victories in marijuana legalization efforts?

Illinois marijuana users in can breathe a small sigh of relief thanks to a recent decision to decriminalize the possession of small amounts of marijuana within the state. Instead of facing court, arrest, and potential jail time, people who get caught carrying less than 10 grams of marijuana, intended for personal use, will now be hit with just a fine, set at a maximum of $200. This makes Illinois the seventeenth state to decriminalize marijuana possession in small amounts, and the country's third largest state so far to do so. Medical marijuana is currently regulated in Illinois under a pilot program that's recently been extended into 2020 and expanded to make marijuana available to PTSD and terminal illness patients, but before now, possession of non-medical marijuana in any amount was considered a criminal offense instead of a minor civil offense.

For those of us in Colorado and other states where recreational marijuana is legal and we can just walk right into one of the many marijuana dispensaries and buy some bud or even clones–not to mention the marijuana deals , daily specials, and the wide variety of marijuana strains—the idea of a possible $200 fine just for carrying a joint in your pocket seems ridiculously harsh and unfair, but for people in Illinois, it's a big improvement.

Prior to the bill's signing, people who got caught with even weed residue could potentially be arrested on the spot and taken to jail. Or, you might just get a ticket, all depending on the cop's sole decision. While Chicago and approximately 100 other cities in Illinois had already taken the step of giving police officers the ability to issue citations for minor marijuana offenses rather than making arrests, many of the state's lawmakers had concerns about whether or not the police were being unbiased in how they handled marijuana crimes. Democratic Senator Heather Steans, one of the bill's sponsors, stated, “We’re treating people really differently across the state, and we should be really getting out of that.”

Meanwhile in Florida medical marijuana advocates are celebrating the smallest steps towards progress in a state where marijuana laws have been notoriously harsh. Florida approved the medical use of non-euphoric, high CBD marijuana strains for people who have cancer or other debilitating diseases two years ago, but due to delays and obstacles in getting licenses for dispensaries, it was just last week that the first medical dispensary was able to make its first sale. Still, only high CBD strains that are virtually void of THC are available in Florida, such as the Charlotte's Web strain often prescribed to children who need it for its medical benefits. This means that no matter how much you smoke of the medical weed in Florida, you won't at all get high. That might change with a proposed amendment that will be on the November election ballot. Amendment 2 would make medical marijuana available to more patients and it would also allow for strains containing higher THC content. Not a huge step forward, but a step nonetheless.

Across the country, attitudes about marijuana are rapidly changing as cannabis makes the mainstream news daily and more and more states opt to reexamine and transform their marijuana laws. Marijuana is big business, and for the many states struggling with budget issues, cannabis legalization is beginning to look very appealing. California voters will decide on Proposition 64 this November, a California marijuana legalization initiative that would legalize recreational marijuana sales and impose a 15% sales tax, which if it passes, is expected to generate upwards of one billion dollars in tax revenue in the first year alone. With Hillary Clinton representing a Democratic Party platform that urges a pathway towards federal legalization and Donald Trump contradicting the Republican Party platform by recently saying that both medical and recreational marijuana laws should be left up to the states, marijuana consumers, activists, and entrepreneurs have a lot to be hopeful for.

 

Continue Reading

Dispensaries are popping up everywhere, in more and more states. But just how many dispensaries can you visit in one day? And how much can you buy?

This can be asked by a cannabis consumer who wants to purchase as much as they can in one day or perhaps someone who wants to stock up on a certain brand or strain that is hard to find. Since we focus on deals and dispensaries mostly in Arizona, Colorado, and Illinois for now, we will keep our focus on those three states.

In these states (and more to come), Cannasaver offers the best dispensary deals and coupons with savings of up to 75% on ounces, concentrates, shatter, wax, edibles, and more.

If you allow the location services on your browser, you will get the best deals right close by.

Most states have their marijuana laws written in ounces of cannabis; however, some states discuss also discuss grams (g) of flower, in which 28 g equal to 1 ounce, while others consider 30 g equal to one ounce.

How Many Dispensaries Can You Visit in One Day in Arizona?

In Arizona, there is no limit on the number of dispensaries you can visit in one day, but there is a limit on the amount you can purchase in a time span of 14 days.

In Arizona, the amount a recreational user can purchase in 14 days is 1 ounce of cannabis, with no more than 5 gm of the 1 ounce being marijuana concentrate. Consumers who have medical marijuana cards or licenses are allowed to purchase 2.5 ounces every 14 days.

Check out some great Arizona cannabis deals and coupons here.

If you’re wondering how different dispensaries and cannabis stores in Arizona keep track of the amount you buy, it is through a central computer system.

The different Arizona dispensaries are supposed to keep track of all their sold cannabis products, which include dates and ingredients. Different dispensaries may have different systems, but they are supposed to report to the same database and share information.

How Many Dispensaries Can You Visit in One Day, in Colorado?

Like Arizona, you can visit as many times as you’d like, but there is a limit on the amount you can purchase.

Colorado calculates the amount purchased daily, unlike Arizona which calculates the amount purchased every 14 days. Colorado also allows much more to be purchased, compared to Arizona.

There is not really a central computer system in Colorado, where dispensaries keep track of what consumers purchase at other dispensaries.

Because of this issue, Colorado dispensaries usually allow the purchase up to the legal possession limits, at one time.

This amount is 1 ounce of flower (or 2 ounces of flower for a medical marijuana patient), 8 gm of concentrate, or 800 mg of edibles.

Note that a medical marijuana patient can have twice the amount of flower, compared to a recreational user; however, the same limits on concentrate and edibles apply. There is an exception in which medical marijuana patients ages 18-20 can only purchase 2 gm per day. Here are some great cannabis deals and coupons available in Colorado.

You must be aware of these possession limits when purchasing.

For example, a recreational user could go into one dispensary to purchase one ounce, and then go to another dispensary to purchase another ounce; however, while the dispensary might not be aware of it, you would be over the possession legal limit and breaking the law.

How Many Dispensaries Can You Visit in One Day in Illinois?

Like Arizona and Colorado, the number of dispensaries you can visit in one day in Illinois is unlimited; however, there is a limit on how much can be purchased. Like Colorado, the amount that can be purchased is based on the legal limit for possession.

Illinois does differ from Arizona and Colorado, in that the limits of recreational cannabis depend on if you are a resident of Illinois or from out of state.

Please note that either way, cannabis cannot be purchased in Illinois and then legally transported across state lines. This is due to a federal law that cannabis users cannot transport cannabis across any state line.

For Illinois residents, purchase or possession is allowed for 30 gm of cannabis flower, up to 500 gm of THC (the psychoactive ingredient in cannabis that causes the “high” feeling users experience), or 5 gm of cannabis concentrates, such as waxes or oils.

For edibles, also called cannabis-infused products, the weight in gm is calculated by the weight of the total product; thus, a recreational cannabis edible should not weigh more than 500 gm,

For non-Illinois residents, the possession limits are half of what an Illinois resident can purchase. So, a non-Illinois resident can purchase/possess 15 gm of cannabis flower, 250 gm of THC infused products or 2.5 gm of cannabis concentrates.

In Illinois, the legal limits of each type are allowed to all be maxed out, at the same time. In other words, a recreational Illinois resident user can purchase or possess up to 30 gm of flower, 500 gm of THC cannabis-infused products, and 500 gm of edibles, all at the same time.

The amounts of medical cannabis that can be purchased are calculated over a two-week period, with 2.5 ounces or 71 gm every 14 days. A waiver can be obtained through the state if someone’s medical condition requires a higher dose.

Where cannabis can be legally used, varies by state. In Arizona, cannabis use is prohibited in public places, with the exception of edibles. The edibles can be consumed in a public place, as long as the consumer is not operating a vehicle. In Colorado and Illinois, the use of any cannabis products, including edibles, is not legal in public places.

Continue Reading

There is widespread weed legalization from state to state. Yet cannabis consumers who travel can run into a real problem. When you leave your state, you can’t take it with you. That’s because federally, weed is still illegal.

It’s a big country and sometimes you gotta get where you’re going by plane. Air travel is governed by the Transportation Security Administration. Currently, the TSA only makes allowances for medical users. But even if you have a medical use license, you can still potentially get in legal trouble.

For recreational weed users, there are no real TSA exemptions. So, if you can’t bring your stash with you, are you straight out of luck? Not necessarily.

There are recreational states that do allow you to buy with an out-of-state license. Let’s take a look at local cannabis laws.

Can You Buy Recreational Weed with an Out-of-State License in Colorado?

Colorado is a popular tourist destination. There’s Rocky Mountain National Park. Skiers flock to Vail and Aspen. Suffice to say, there’s much to see and do.

For 420 enthusiasts, Colorado is special. It was the first state to legalize both medical and recreational cannabis

Cool, but what does it mean for our jurisdiction tokers?

For Colorado locals, you have to be 21 or older to buy recreational weed. With a medical license, you can shop dispensaries as young as 18 years old. Out-of-state visitors can buy as much marijuana as residents. Tourists merely need a valid form of ID, such as a driver’s license from their own local.

So, that’s a big yes for buying buds recreationally, even if you aren’t a Colorado native.

How Much Recreational Weed Can You Buy in Colorado?

In Colorado, both residents and guests are limited to 1 oz of cannabis flower

The law further specifies that to be equal to 8 grams of concentrate or 800 milligrams of edibles. That’s just one of those not all three. They will add the weight of the weed together.

Can You Buy Recreational Weed with an Out-of-State License in Arizona?

Arizona is another place people like to visit. 

What’s there? There’s Hoover Dam – that’s really interesting. 

Deserts are everywhere. 

Oh, yeah, and they also have the Grand Canyon. It’s a big attraction.

What’s the situation with legalization? 

First of all, recreational cannabis became legal there in 2021. State law allows local residents who are 21 years or older to buy cannabis. And medical marijuana is allowable for 18-year-olds and up.

But can you buy weed there if you’re just visiting? Tourists can indeed buy cannabis with a valid legal ID. As with Colorado, a driver’s license will do ya.

Therefore, Arizona gets a thumbs up for being friendly to out-of-state stoners.

How Much Recreational Weed Can You Buy in Arizona?

Now in Arizona, visitors get to buy up to an ounce of bud. Both concentrates and edibles are limited to 5 grams. Again, that’s the total amount. So, authorities will add them collectively. And officials will penalize you for going over the ounce limit – or the equivalent in concentrates and/or edibles.

Can You Buy Recreational Weed With an Out-of-State License in Illinois?

How about the ‘Land of Lincoln’ as Illinois is known?

You may decide to go visit Illinois for a number of reasons

Chicago is one of the biggest tourist destinations. 

There are museums, restaurants, and entertainment venues aplenty in the Windy City. But Illinois also boasts a number of pleasant parks and scenic drives along Lake Michigan. Consequently, you likely will find much to do while on vacation there.

How is the local ganja scene? In 2020, cannabis consumption for recreational users became allowable by law in Illinois. Medical licenses are available for those with qualifying medical conditions. In both medical and recreational instances, you have to be at least 21 years old.

Residents can buy 30 grams of marijuana or up to 500 grams of THC. Thus, they restrict the amount of the psychotropic element in pot. So, you can get less of higher-level THC cannabis.

And are visitors allowed to buy Illinois herbs?  

The answer is once again a resounding yes. As with the other places above, tourists just need a driver's license or other legal ID.

That said, the Illinois legal situation is a bit more complex. It’s still good, but there’s more you must pay attention to. 

How Much Recreational Weed Can You Buy in Illinois?

The rules in Illinois for pot products, between residents and visitors, are not the same. Tourists are restricted to half the legal limit that residents can buy - 15g of flower or 250g of THC. And only purchasing 2.5 grams of concentrates. And those as well as edibles count towards the 250 grams of THC.

Cities like Gulfport, along the Illinois border, may get traffic from those wanting to cross state lines. But taking the weed back over to another state is illegal.

Out-of-State Recreational Weed Laws Summarized

So, what have we learned?

In none of the areas above are you allowed to take any dispensary purchases back out of state. 

You have to consume your cannabis while you are there on vaycay.

Also, all of the places we looked at do allow provisioning center purchases for people who come from out of state. However, there are limits to how much herb each of them allows.

Now, you’re not going to fill up a trash bag with ganja goodies in any of the above locations. All these places put restrictions on how much marijuana even locals can buy. Generally, visitors have the same restrictions or more.

Great Deals on Recreational Weed

Okay so, did you think we’d take you this far without some recreational discounts on weed

Whether you’re a resident or visitor, you can save on your bud. 

Cannasaver offers the best dispensary deals and coupons with savings of up to 75% on ounces, concentrates, shatter, wax, edibles, and more.

Simply search by area in the top-left search bar, or click on Featured Stores to find dispensaries nearest you!

Continue Reading
CannaSaver Blog

Illinois Marijuana Laws

Posted by CANNASaver on Thursday, 24 March 2022 in Canna Blog

Nowadays, a number of states have legalized weed. Some have "okayed" cannabis recreationally, some medically, and some both.

Illinois has both types. And, just like every other legal state, it has laws. These laws govern who can have weed and how much. Further, they govern who can grow it and who can sell it.

There are differences in the rules for medical and recreational users. They regulate how much and what kind of weed either kind of cannabis consumer can have. And they regulate the total amount of THC in the marijuana merchandise you buy.

There are even guidelines for out-of-state shoppers. The legislature has been quite thorough in enacting laws to govern the use of ganja. Let's go over Illinois marijuana laws – both recreational and medical.


Let's start with when this all began.

When Did Marijuana Become "Legalized" in Illinois?

The legalization of cannabis in the United States began with medical use in California in 1996. Following that, Washington and Colorado were the first states to legalize recreational in 2012.

Illinois approved a limited medical marijuana program in 2013. Recreational weed was approved by the legislature to begin in January of 2020.

There are some notable differences between the two categories of weed laws. 

We’ll look at those distinctions in depth.

Medical Marijuana Laws in Illinois

The state’s Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act took effect on July 15, 2014. It allowed for 35 qualifying conditions. Notably, at the time, qualifiers did not include chronic pain, the main reason for most medical use.

A qualified doctor must attest that marijuana is a necessary medicine for applicants. Anyone 18 years old and up can apply for a license. In some instances, adults can apply for caregiver licenses for minor children. 

There have been significant adjustments to rules for patients since 2014. For instance, chronic pain has been added to the acceptable conditions list. The opioid crisis was a major motivator for expanding medical marijuana access.

How much can cannabis cardholders acquire?

How Much Medical Can You Buy at a Time?

Pot patients in the Land of Lincoln, as Illinois is known, can get 2.5 ounces, or 71 grams, of ganja within a two-week period

They may own up to 5 grams of concentrates. 

They may have up to 500 mg of THC period. 

Flower, edibles, and concentrates cannot exceed 500mg of total THC.

Should a doctor indicate, cardholders can get waivers for more weed through the state. 

Plants are also possible for patients to get and grow, but they are limited to five. As with many states, cannabis crops must be kept out of public view. Using weed is also restricted to private, personal spaces.

Cannabis consumers with a med license can also purchase through registered caregivers. These agents can only serve one patient at a time. They can also pick up marijuana medicine for homebound patients. Caregiver cannabis has the same limits as other medical marijuana licenses.

How are laws and limits different for casual users?

Recreational Marijuana Laws in Illinois 

In 2016, the state did decriminalize possessing less than 10 grams of marijuana. For small amounts, the penalty was set at $200.

January 2020 was the beginning of recreational use in the state. The law stipulates an age limit of 21 years or older.

As with pretty much every other state, it is prohibited to use cannabis products in public. Transportation must be in sealed containers stored away from anyone driving an automobile. Obviously, driving while high is a crime.

Breaking weed laws have severe consequences. 

For instance, holding more than 30 to 100 grams of marijuana is considered a Class A misdemeanor. And that is punished by up to a year in prison, plus a potential fine of $2500.

Only licensed dispensaries can sell weed, recreational or otherwise. Individuals cannot sell cannabis to anyone else. Nor can individuals grow their own plants without a medical license.

Individual localities in Illinois can decide if they want to allow provisioning centers. They cannot supersede state laws about personal use or possession. You can find out where to legally buy weed from the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation. Or by searching here on Cannasaver, especially in the Chicago area.

Cannabis consumers must show a valid ID. You must prove you are 21 years old or older. All sales are cash because, at this time, credit cards cannot be used.

There is an allowance for out-of-state users to buy recreationally. They also need a valid ID from their own state. Visitors have reduced amounts they can purchase, as detailed below.

Suffice to say, tourists also face stiff penalties if they possess over the legal limits.

All that said, how much can recreational users buy?

How Much Recreational Can You Buy at a Time? 

As indicated above, the regulations are different for casual cannabis use.

Those without a med license can get up to an ounce of herb. Cannabis concentrates are limited to 5 grams. And edibles or tinctures are restricted to 500 milligrams of THC.

The total limit is 500 milligrams. 

That’s all of the THC altogether between flower, concentrates, and edibles.

That’s the rub in Illinois – they restrict the amount of THC in the weed you buy. So, you can purchase less weed with higher THC levels. These limits are for a two-week period – thus every two weeks you can buy and own up to the restrictions.

As previously mentioned, out of staters can get recreational cannabis in Illinois. However, they are restricted to half the amount locals can get. So, that’s a half-ounce of flower and 2.5 grams of concentrate. The total THC cap is 250 milligrams. That’s everything - flower, edibles, and concentrates added together.

For locals or tourists, there are ways to save some green on your ganja.

Illinois Marijuana Deals on Cannasaver 

Cannasaver is now in Illinois! Filter Illinois dispensaries by typing in "Chicago" in the top search bar. Then click "Chicago" under "Location."

We offer the best dispensary deals and coupons with savings of up to 75% on ounces, concentrates, shatter, wax, edibles, and more.

30% off your first medical purchase at Sunnyside!

Mindy's Edibles 100mg $30 in Chicago!

Bedford Grow Concentrates $70/1Gram

Continue Reading

Deals Near You

$50/oz OTD flower
$50/oz OTD flower
Federal Heights - Recreational
BOGO 50% OFF All Non-Medicated Accessories
BOGO 50% OFF All Non-Medicated Accessories
Louisville - Recreational
$9.95 WAX
$9.95 WAX
Denver - Recreational
Discount, pre-rolled joint
Discount, pre-rolled joint
Colorado Springs - Medical
Shake Ounces $25 OTD !!!
Shake Ounces $25 OTD !!!
Denver - Recreational
MED: $35 OTD Shake Ounce
MED: $35 OTD Shake Ounce
Northglenn - Medical
Member pricing
Member pricing
Colorado Springs - Medical

Archive